Abortion Rights Blog

The national pro-choice campaign

Text and votes of Ann Winterton’s defeated bill to obstruct abortion access

On 5th June 2007 Ann Winterton, Conservantive MP and Vice-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Pro-Life Group, introduced a Parliamentary ‘Ten Minute Rule’ bill to obstruct abortion access for all women. The bill proposed to impose compulsory counselling and a seven-day delay on women’s access to the abortion procedure in an attempt to dissuade women from having an abortion.

Labour MP Laura Moffatt spoke against the Bill which was defeated by 182 votes to 107. It was the third Bill from anti-choice MPs in eight months.

For more detail of the debate, please visit the House of Commons Hansard transcript, which includes the text of the Bill, the speeches for and against and the lists of voting MPs.